Michigan Attorneys Battle OWI Allegations for Clients
Established Traverse City lawyers help you fight drunk driving charges
Drunk driving allegations have serious consequences. If you are charged with operating a vehicle while intoxicated, or OWI, you need a strong defense from diligent advocates. Many drivers surrender their legal rights because they are embarrassed or don’t understand the legal protections in place for them. At Jarboe & Pfeil, we will review your case thoroughly and challenge each legal flaw we find. Even if you feel the odds are stacked against you, we will seek an appropriate outcome and will not let you be intimidated.
Knowledgeable counsel for people accused of driving while intoxicated
In Michigan, the standard legal intoxication level is a blood alcohol content, or BAC, reading of at least .08 percent. However, this level is not universally applied. The criminal law attorneys of Jarboe & Pfeil have decades of experience defending motorists charged with OWI and understand specific aspects of Michigan law, including:
- Age — For drivers under the age of 21, any detection of alcohol in their blood, even a reading of .01 percent, can result in an OWI charge.
- Commercial drivers — The special responsibility and inherent danger of operating commercial vehicles prompt a stricter standard under Michigan law. Commercial drivers are considered to be legally intoxicated if their BAC is .04 percent or greater.
- Test refusal — Under Michigan’s implied consent law, anyone operating a vehicle on Michigan roads is understood to give consent to being tested when a police officer has probable cause to stop them on suspicion of OWI. Even if you are not eventually charged, a first test refusal results in an automatic one-year driver’s license suspension.
Whether you were tested using a breathalyzer, blood test or urine test, Jarboe & Pfeil can investigate whether the authorities followed proper procedures or test results were corrupted in some manner.
Detailed advice on penalties and procedures for OWI cases
An OWI count can be charged as either a felony or a misdemeanor depending on a variety of factors, but foremost among them is whether death or serious injury resulted. If not, the defendant’s driving history is reviewed, with a third offense in seven years resulting in a felony conviction and at least 30 days of jail time. Even a misdemeanor first OWI conviction can result in a license suspension and the placement of an interlock ignition device in your car. No matter what your specific situation involves, our attorneys understand how to argue for an appropriate lesser charge and advocate for you at trial so you have the best chance at a fair result.
Asserting motorists’ legal rights when the stop was improper
Probable cause must be present to stop a driver on suspicion of OWI. If this does not exist, charges can be dismissed even if evidence found during the stop indicates impaired driving. Jarboe & Pfeil enforces the constitutional rights of Michigan motorists. As a former prosecutor, Paul Jarboe knows the difference between a legal stop and one where law enforcement tries to conjure probable cause grounds. If you have been charged with OWI, we can examine the entire timeline of your case to determine whether prejudicial errors occurred.
Contact an established Michigan OWI defense attorney
From our office in Traverse City, Jarboe & Pfeil represents people throughout Northern Michigan in OWI/DUI cases and other criminal defense cases, family law and estate planning matters. Please call 231-714-9878 or contact us online to schedule a free initial consultation.